Deep & Crisp & Even the sun shone

A very enjoyable morning at Rowlands Castle Craft Market, organised by Sylvia Tomkinson, herself a skilled jeweller.  Minus 2 degrees when I left home, but sunny and crisp.  The hall was toasty with the radiators at full blast.  Sylvia’s mulled wine and mince pies added to the glow.   David, who runs Candle Cavern based in Petersfield, had the adjoining stall, and helped me to sort out the problem of my smokey oil lamps. He uses beeswax and soy wax for his candles, and works with a keen environmental awareness. Kate Steed, who keeps a flock of Jacob sheep at nearby Northwood Farm, had her usual cosy display of winter warmers – sheepskin rugs, wool, and knitwear.

I was delighted to be welcomed back  by several customers from last year. As always, I had several most interesting and useful chats with people on subjects as diverse as ski-ing,  barn owls and the EU. Between times I sold a few ceramics, Xmas decorations and soap dishes being top sellers again.

This is my last Market for 2011. I’m already pencilling-in up to Xmas next year, but the main event to begin with will be the Emsworth Arts Trail, 5 days in May when my studio in Woodmancote will be open to the public. More of that in a later post.

Comments always very welcome !

